An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Region 2 Indian Nations Program

EPA Region 2 is committed to helping Indian Nations strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that Indian Nations have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The region serves 8 federally recognized Indian Nations, all within the state of New York.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) 

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA.

The Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 2

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Intertribal Consortia.
For more information regarding the administration of GAP in Region 2, contact Grant Jonathan ( at (212) 637-3843 

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 2

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with Indian Nations in Region 2, contact Grant Jonathan at (212) 637-3843.

Federally Recognized Tribes in Region 2

  • Cayuga Nation
  • Onondaga Nation
  • Oneida Indian Nation
  • St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
  • Seneca Nation Of Indians
  • Shinnecock Indian Nation
  • Tonawanda Seneca Nation ("Tonawanda Band Of Seneca")
  • Tuscarora Nation 

Top of Page