An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Region 5 Tribal Program

EPA Region 5 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The Region serves 35 federally recognized tribes within the states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

On this page:

The Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 5

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Intertribal Consortia

Top of Page

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 5

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 5, see the regional procedures below.

Top of Page

Federally Recognized Tribes in Region 5

The following links exit the site Exit

Tribes/Consortia in Michigan

Tribes/Consortia in Wisconsin

Tribes/Consortia in Minnesota

Top of Page