An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Protecting Underground Sources of Drinking Water from Underground Injection (UIC)

Protecting Underground Sources of Drinking Water from Underground Injection (UIC)

This website contains information for owners and operators of injection wells, regulators, and the public about safe injection well operations to prevent the contamination of underground sources of drinking water. 

At this time, EPA may face delays in processing paper UIC permit applications and Hazardous Waste petition requests due to precautions being taken during the current COVID-19 pandemic.  If you plan on submitting a permit application for an EPA-issued permit or a Hazardous Waste petition request, please refer to the webpage of the appropriate EPA Regional Office for information on contacting EPA via email, telephone/voicemail, or other electronic means before submitting paper documents to EPA.

UIC Where You Live

EPA has ten regional offices. Each regional office oversees local state, territory, and tribal UIC activities. Select your state from the menu below, or click on your region to find local UIC information about:

  • Public notices
  • Permitting and registration
  • Tribal concerns
  • Regional UIC guidance documents
  • Contacts

Map of the US, split into EPA regions Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakaota, Utah, Wyoming Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington