An official website of the United States government.

This is not the current EPA website. To navigate to the current EPA website, please go to This website is historical material reflecting the EPA website as it existed on January 19, 2021. This website is no longer updated and links to external websites and some internal pages may not work. More information »

Border 2020

Region 9 Workgroups

Workgroups in the Regions of California/Baja California and Arizona/Sonora

The California/Baja California and Arizona/Sonora Regional Workgroups plan and coordinate activities at the regional level, develop biennial action plans, and support the efforts of local Task Forces.  Each Regional Workgroup has one state and one federal co-chair from environment agencies in each country, and work closely with the  North American Development Bank (NADB)Exit to implement projects to fulfill the goals and objectives in Border 2020.  Local Task Forces have been created to identify priority issues and help facilitate pilot projects by engaging with local, state, and tribal governments; academia; NGOs; and the public.